Menu Close

2019 Banner 2

We at JustRead are taking to social media today to spread the word about The Art of Writing Conference &  The Christy Award® Gala 2019 !!

You're Invited to The Art of Writing Conference and The Christy Award Gala

YOU ARE INVITED… to two events that celebrate the power of story and honor the craft of writing.  Held the afternoon and evening of Wednesday, November 6 at Lipscomb University in Nashville, both events feature the industry’s top authors and publishers in workshops and a celebration dinner gala for The Christy Award® program.

Bundle rate for both events is $119.  Register at

The Christy Award® 2019 Finalists

Contemporary Romance

Brunch at Bittersweet Cafe Falling For You Wait for Me
Brunch at Bittersweet Cafe by Carla Laureano (Tyndale House Publishers)
WINNER Falling for You by Becky Wade (Bethany House)
Wait for Me by Susan May Warren (Revell)

First Novel

The Baggage Handler Engraved on the Heart The Plum Blooms in Winter
WINNER The Baggage Handler by David Rawlings (Thomas Nelson)
Engraved on the Heart by Tara Johnson (Tyndale House Publishers)
The Plum Blooms in Winter by Linda Thompson (Mountain Brook Ink)

General Fiction

No One Ever Asked Send Down the Rain We Hope For Better Things
WINNER No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert (WaterBrook)
Send Down the Rain by Charles Martin (Thomas Nelson)
We Hope for Better Things by Erin Bartels (Revell)


A Rumored Fortune Of Fire and Lions The Seamstress Shelter of the Most High
A Rumored Fortune by Joanna Davidson Politano (Revell)
Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews (WaterBrook)
The Seamstress by Allison Pittman (Tyndale House Publishers)
WINNER Shelter of the Most High by Connilyn Cossette (Bethany House)

Historical Romance

A Defense of Honor Becoming Mrs. Lewis With This Pledge
A Defense of Honor by Kristi Ann Hunter (Bethany House)
WINNER Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan (Thomas Nelson)
WINNER With this Pledge by Tamera Alexander (Thomas Nelson)


Called to Protect Every Wicked Man Mind Games
Called to Protect by Lynette Eason (Revell)
WINNER Every Wicked Man by Steven James (Berkley, an imprint of Penguin Random House)
Mind Games by Nancy Mehl (Bethany House)

Short Form

The Christmas Heirloom Catching Christmas Falling for Grace
A Shot at Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Sarah Loudin Thomas (Bethany House)
Legacy of Love within The Christmas Heirloom by Kristi Ann Hunter (Bethany House)
WINNER Catching Christmas by Terri Blackstock (Thomas Nelson)
Falling for Grace by Janet W. Ferguson (Southern Sun Press LLC)



Mark of the Raven Shivering World The Story Peddler The Wounded Shadow
Mark of the Raven by Morgan L. Busse (Bethany House)
WINNER Shivering World by Kathy Tyers (Enclave Publishing)
The Story Peddler by Lindsay A. Franklin (Enclave Publishing)
The Wounded Shadow by Patrick W. Carr (Bethany House)

Young Adult

The Crescent Stone Fawkes The Warrior Maiden
The Crescent Stone by Matt Mikalatos (Wander, a YA imprint of Tyndale House)
Fawkes by Nadine Brandes (Thomas Nelson)
WINNER The Warrior Maiden by Melanie Dickerson (Thomas Nelson)

The Christy Award Gala 2019


The Christy Award Dinner Gala will celebrate the art of Christian fiction, announce the 2019 winners of The Christy Award, and feature bestselling authors Patti Callahan, James Rubart and Becky Wade. In addition, we’ll honor the legacy of bestselling author and pioneer of inspirational fiction, Janette Oke, in the 40th anniversary year of Love Comes Softly. Learn more at


Spend the afternoon learning and connecting with writers and publishers through four workshops designed to take your writing to the next level.  Sessions will be led by Lysa TerKeurst (Reaching the Heart of Readers); James Rubart (Next-Level Writing); Anne Bogel (Casting Novel Characters Using the Enneagram); and a panel of marketing pros that include Dave Schroeder (B&H), Michele Misiak (Revell), Steve Laube (Enclave), Anne Bogel (author/ podcaster/ blogger), and Amy Green (Bethany House). Learn more at


Bundle:  One winner will receive up to 2 admissions to:

  • The Art of Writing Conference
  • The Christy Award® Gala 2019

Both events are on November 6th at Lipscomb University in Nashville.


Enter via the Rafflecopter giveaway below. Giveaway will begin at midnight October 16, 2019 and last through 11:59 pm October 23, 2018. Winners will be notified within a week of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This prize is for the tickets to the events only. Lodging and travel expenses not included.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.